Farnborough Hill's setting is certainly unique. The main house has an illustrious past and it is set in 60 acres of grounds, which include secluded gardens and woodland. Situated on the highest point in Farnborough, it has marvellous views over the surrounding countryside.
Thomas Longman, the publisher, began building the house in 1860.
Farnborough Hill's most famous resident, however, was the exiled Empress Eugénie, widow of Emperor Napoleon III of France. Empress Eugénie lived here from 1880 until her death in 1920.
The history of the school itself began in 1889 when The Institute of Christian Education established a convent school in Farnborough. They purchased the house at Farnborough Hill in 1927 and commissioned Adrian Gilbert Scott to design additional school buildings which included the stunning school chapel. Over the years there has been further expansion, all of it in keeping with this Grade One listed building. In 1994, The Institute of Christian Education transferred ownership to The Farnborough Hill Trust and the school is now under lay management.
The picturesque and historic surroundings give the school a firm sense of identity, providing a safe and stable environment where girls experience a happy atmosphere of friendship and support.
In 2014, to commemorate 125 years since the school first started in Farnborough, this lovely book was published describing the history of the school and including many anecdotes from former pupils and staff. Copies of this book are still available at a cost of £30 plus postage. To purchase a copy, please contact the school on email@example.com in the first instance.